Differences bring us together

On the 13th of May this year, I legally became Lucy Wayland. I’d been living as a woman full time a couple of months before that, but that is when two dear friends witnessed my name change. I am going to post about the whole experience when it is finally into the completion zone.

However, this last weekend just gone, I was helping out with the Cambridge (UK) MiniDebConf. I was mostly gophering and front-desk-helpering, with side orders of beverages, so I missed most of the talks. Which is not the point.

I met nearly everybody at the conference. Many of them knew me as Jon, a goateed man. I was there as Lucy, a woman. And nobody batted an eyelid.

  • Not a single person used my old name
  • Not a single person mis-gendered me
  • Not a single person referred to my transition

The only time I had to produce my Deed Poll out was for keysigning, as I still do not have photo ID with my new name on. I proffered it along with my passport, so there was no embarrassment.

I know other people within Debian have gone through the same process. However, I just have to say how wonderful it is, to be accepted just that way.

And hence the title of my article. Our differences bring us together. So many different people from so many different cultures came together, wanted to create, and my change of gender was just irrelevant.

And that’s how it should be.

4 thoughts on “Differences bring us together

  1. Are the slides available for the FPU talk? It was really great, and the best explanation of the floating point computing that I ever had. Once one realises it’s all base 2 fractions it starts to make a whole lot more sense. (and I have electronics degree and none of this made sense when I was grinding through the discrete time processing courses back at uni.)

    1. aardvarkoffnord

      The slides will be linked from the wiki page in the next day or so, as will the videos. So you can watch me channel Dr. Magnus Pyke again šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

